I’m going dark

It’s time to accept that my ambitious optimism is actually unrealistic expectations this time.

lifeatwar

As I’ve said before, this blog was intended to preface some self employment opportunity. I’ve been working toward some things to that end, the internet marketing diploma I just did and the website I’ve started, as well as the t-shirts I tried to get sold and the few bits of clothing I tried to get orders for. What I’ve found is that it’s going to take a lot more time and energy than I have at the moment.

I’ve barely been able to keep up with this blog, which I love having as an outlet, never mind get properly started on anything else along with it. Also, even though I’ve not really accomplished all that much I’m totally exhausted. I never really relax. Every evening I’m here blogging or doing social media, or doing course work (which is done for now thankfully) or staring at my computer screen feeling guilty that I’m too brain dead to be productive. Sometimes, I spend time with family or friends, but very rarely do I have a night to just veg out in front of the TV and do nothing. When I do, I feel guilty because I’m always behind on what I want done. Once every few weeks I pass out at 7:00 putting my daughter to bed and stay there until 6:00 in the morning.

I’m taking a break. I want to watch the fourth season of Game of Thrones and The Walking Dead and maybe something else after that. I’m going to pare down blog posts to a couple a month, and they will be more documentary than commentary. I’ll try to stay up to date on Facebook and maybe will be more communicative there than I have been in the past, kind of like micro-blogging. I’ll try to keep up with Twitter a bit if I can too. I have this clothing website I’m working on which I was really excited about so I’ll get that finished and launched and see how much time it takes to keep it up to date before deciding what to do with it. I’m hoping it will take no more than one evening a week or so.

We’ll see how I feel in a month, or three, or maybe more. So maybe I’m not really going dark, just a bit shadowy. Hope you all understand.

2 thoughts on “I’m going dark

  1. I totally know what you mean about taking time out. I did a lot of thinking whilst I’ve been off this month and September is a new beginning for me – I want to feel like my time is spent more in the real world. I stopped looking at the numbers and stats for my blog about a year ago when I started another adult ed class and passing it took over my time/priorities and guess what, the world didn’t end! On holiday I was without wifi for almost the whole two weeks and the world is still spinning so I want to make sure I’m out there to enjoy it! x

    • Without wifi would terrify me haha. Though thats because I’m in kidworld most of the time. You seem to be like me a bit Kerry wanting to learn new things all the time and create something new and experience something exciting all the time. It takes up so much time! I just need to breathe for a bit.

Leave a comment